Crafty sweater wreath

Blog Projects 012, originally uploaded by kellyinbernal.

I saw a similar item in the Viva Terra catalog and had to try to make it myself. I love how it turned out. It’s actually just old sweaters of mine cut into squares and threaded onto a wire hanger fashioned into a hoop.

First I picked my colors. Then I cut the sweaters into roughly 4×4 squares. I realized that I like how it turned out better when the squares are not exactly the same size. I also rolled a few of the squares here and there and threaded them onto the wire hanger instead of threading through the center of the square. This gave it more texture and interest.

I love how a wreath is so welcoming on the front door. Since the colors are red, gray, and blue it’s not too Christmas-y. I haven’t wanted to take it down since I made it.

1 Comment

Filed under Craft, Repurpose

One response to “Crafty sweater wreath

  1. Laura

    I love all these ideas, Kelly! I particularly like the sweater wreath – we have more clothes that are worn out than we need for rags. Keep the ideas coming!

Leave a Reply

